The beta is coming along.

I thought I’d be able to add support for hidden wifi networks. (Non-broadcasting SSIDs)
I’d seen the option in WifiConfiguration to have hiddenSSID true.

But, after some experimentation and research, it seems Google decided at some point to phase out support. (If it ever was working)

I speculate that their reasons have to do with the fact that a hidden network has to be scanned for actively, doing a network probe every time you scan for wifi networks, which would be a battery drain. Not a good thing for a mobile device.

Sadly, a fair number of people use hidden SSIDs for security. I’m just going to have to explain in the docs that Android can’t support it.

I did learn a lot from digging around in the WifiService code, so not a total waste of 6+ hours.

